D’Urso wins Union presidency


D’Urso, of New College, won 614 votes, edging out Dattani of St Anne’s College, who received 578 – a margin of only 36 votes. D’Urso will assume the presidency in Trinity 2013, and has pledged a “weekend trip to Paris” for members during his tenure.

Nominees for the three other officerships were elected unopposed. Joining D’Urso in Trinity will be Librarian-elect Polina Ivanova, of University College, and Treasurer-elect Chris Frost, of Oriel College, whose manifesto for the position was two lines long: “I have advised on the Union’s Million [sic] pound budget. Vote Frost!”

Liz Culliford of St Hilda’s College will be Secretary in Hilary 2013.

In order of votes received, the candidates successfully elected to Standing Committee were Ben Sullivan, Sachin Srivastava, Sam Perkins, Alex Trafford and Jane Chan.

A total of 1,270 votes were cast at this election.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here