Oxford's oldest student newspaper

Independent since 1920

Lachs defeats Dattani to win Union presidency

Daniel Kodsi
Daniel Kodsi
Hi, I am Chairman of OSPL, Cherwell's publishing house. I was editor during Michaelmas 2016. I read Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE) at Balliol College and can be reached at [email protected]

Noah Lachs won yesterday’s election by a margin of 132 votes, with turnout falling just short of Trinity term’s election, the last time officer positions were contested by two slates.

Lachs, the Union’s treasurer, defeated Henna Dattani, its secretary by a vote of 782 to 650, the margin of 132 enough to give him victory on the first ballot.

#19ideas candidates for librarian-elect, Fran Varley, and secretary-elect, Mia Smith, also won their respective relections. However the last Union officer position, of treasurer-elect, went to #SMART slate member Michael Li.

Both Varley and Li’s races were tightly contested, with each in fact receiving fewer first preference ballots than their competitors.

The #19ideas slate also picked up three of five Standing Committee seats and five of the eleven positions on Secretary’s Committee. #SMART won the other two Standing Committee seats and four positions on Secretary’s Committee.

This is only the second contested Union election since the rules were changed to allow online campaigning and the formation of slates.

Results are below.  (19) designates members of the #19ideas slate; (S) designates members of #SMART.

Noah Lachs (19): 782
Henna Dattani (S): 650
RON: 44

Fran Varley (19): 600
Ellen Milligan (S): 604
RON: 76

Michael Li (S): 592
Tycho Onnasch (19): 595
RON: 73

Mia Smith (19): 660
Callum Tipple (S): 565
RON: 59

Standing Committee:
Dom Hopkins-Powell (19): 191
Lizzie Watson (S): 169
Belinda Gurung (S): 166
Ira Banerjee: (19): 136
Henry Kitchen (19): 127

Support student journalism

Student journalism does not come cheap. Now, more than ever, we need your support.

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles