Oxford's oldest student newspaper

Sunday, June 26, 2022

Moran keeps majority in Oxford West

Layla Moran has been re-elected as MP for the marginal Oxford West and Abingdon.

Moran, an MP since the 2017 General Election, beat the Conservative PPC by almost 9,000 votes to maintain her seat.

Moran’s victory increases the gap between the Liberal Democrats and the Conservative Party after James Frederickson gained only 38.1% of the vote.

In 2017, Moran won the seat by a mere 816 votes, ending Conservative Nicola Blackwood’s seven-year tenure.

Rosie Sourbut, the Labour PPC, received 4,258 votes, while the Brexit Party candidate, Allison Wild, received 829.

With a turnout of 76.4%, this election proved to be a highly contested event, centred heavily around Brexit.

The re-election of a Liberal Democrat in Oxford West and Abingdon echoes the wishes of the 70% of constituents voted to remain in the European Union in 2016.

Moran is one of 11 Liberal Democrats to be elected as MPs, but the Conservative Party will form a government after winning a majority.

Liberal Democrat leader, Jo Swinson, narrowly lost her seat of Dunbartonshire East to the SNP by 149 votes.

Support student journalism

Student journalism does not come cheap. Now, more than ever, we need your support.

Check out our other content

Most Popular Articles