Authors Posts by Cherwell News

Cherwell News


New Linguistics faculty for Oxford

Oxford University will launch its new faculty for Linguistics, Philology and Phonetics on August 1 2008. The faculty will centralise Oxford’s research and teaching...

Design award for Univ boathouse

University College's new boathouse, which was unveiled to the public at Summer Eights last year, has been awarded a Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) award. The boathouse, which was designed by Shahriar Nasser for Belsize Architects, was rebuilt at a cost of £2.7m following an arson attack in 1999 that left the old building unusable. The money was raised through a combination of insurance pay-outs and donations from Univ alumni. The building is modern in appearance, featuring panoramic views of the river and a thin copper roof, and includes facilities for boat storage and repair as well as a gym and accomodation. It is used by students from University, Wolfson, St Peter's and Somerville colleges.

Holt is new Union President-Elect

LMH second year Charlie Holt has won the race for the title of President of the Oxford Union, following Friday's election. He will commence his duties in Hilary Term 2009. Leo-Marcus Wan was elected Librarian for Michaelmas 2008.  The full results of the elections are as follows: President, Hilary 2009Charlie Holt: 767 Ed Waldegrave: 574 Librarian, Hilary 2009Leo Marcus Wan: 665 Guagua Bo: 620 Spoilt, blank, void: 175 Secretary, Michaelmas 2008Tom Hartley: 712 Simon Millar: 429 Spoilt, blank, void: 322 Treasurer, Hilary 2009James Langham, unopposedStanding Commitee, Michaelmas 2008Nouri Verghese: 153Ronald Collinson: 137Ngu Atanga: 133James Kingston: 114Niall Gallagher: 113 Runner up: Katy Minshall  Secretary's Committee, Michaelmas 2008 William Parry: 109Judd Fischer:

Balliol burglar may be student

Police are appealing for help after a burglar escaped porters at Balliol College.

VIDEO: Protests mar Israel festival

Palestine supporters descend on iFest "Camels in Oxford" event, despite organisers' call to leave politics aside.

Four take May Day leap

Four men jumped into the River Cherwell within minutes of Magdalen Bridge re-opening.


Jesus College accused of controversial evangelical group ‘cover-up’

Jesus is now the third Oxford college to have hosted Christian Concern in recent years, along with Exeter and Trinity, whilst LMH is currently considering whether or not to host the group

Students raise safety concerns over ‘extremely frightening’ Park End queue

“It was an extremely frightening experience; several people were experiencing panic attacks."

Don’t confuse free speech with hate speech

The Union’s series of predictably shocking speakers are anathema to our values

Union Standing Committee vote to continue with Bannon event

Officials voted narrowly to not cancel the event, despite pressure from student groups

Oxford Dictionaries announce Word of the Year 2018

Runners-up included 'big dick energy', 'incel', and 'gammon'